The Science Team

The international MSE Science Team supports MSE science and partnership development. The Science Team is charged with the continued development of the detailed science case, science requirements and operational concept for MSE. During this current, defining, stage of the project, the Science Team is the primary group that is shaping the scientific capabilities of this next generation facility.

To its members, the Science Team provides an opportunity for early engagement and an opportunity for leadership within the diverse and broad-ranging science areas that MSE will impact. As a multi-national consortium, the Science Team allows for new scientific collaboration across the potential partnership. Observational programs will be developed that may become key next generation astronomy projects come first light of the facility, and Science Team members will have the opportunity to be founding members in these projects.

Membership of the MSE Science Team during the current development phase is open to any PhD astronomer in the international community with science interests overlapping with MSE. The Science Executive reviews annually the membership of the Science Team, and continued membership of the team requires only a record of active contributions to the Science Team from the team members.

The MSE Science Team accepts new members on a continuing basis. To volunteer to be part of the team, please contact the Project Scientist, Alan McConnachie, at .

Current Science Team membership (as of September 2014):
Nobuo Arimoto, Subaru/NAOJ, Japan
Martin Asplund, Australian National University, Australia
Herve Aussel, CEA Saclay, France
Carine Babusiaux, Observatoire de Paris, France
Michael Balogh, Waterloo, Canada
Michele Bannister, University of Victoria, Canada
Giuseppina Battaglia, IAC, Spain
Harish Bhatt, Indian Institute of Astrophysics, India
SS Bhargavi, Indian Institute of Astrophysics, India
John Blakeslee, NRC Herzberg, Canada
Joss Bland-Hawthorn, Sydney, Australia
Alessandro Boselli, LAM, France
Jo Bovy, University of Toronto, Canada
Terry Bridges, Okanagan College, Kelowna, Canada
James Bullock, University of California at Irvine, USA
Denis Burgarella, LAM, France
Elisabetta Caffau, GEPI, Observatoire de Paris, France
Tzu-Ching Chang, ASIAA, Taiwan
Andrew Cole, Tasmania, Australia
Johan Comparat, CEI UAM+CSIC, Madrid, Spain
Jeff Cooke, Swinburne, Australia
Andrew Cooper, Durham, UK
Pat Cote, NRC Herzberg, Canada
Helene Courtois, University of Lyon, IPNL
Scott Croom, University of Sydney, Australia
Richard de Grijs, KAVLI, Peking University, China
Paola Di Matteo, Observatoire de Paris, France
Simon Driver, University of Western Australia, Australia
Pierre-Alain Duc, CEA Saclay, France
Sara Ellison, Victoria, Canada
Ginevra Favole, CEI UAM+CSIC, Madrid, Spain
Laura Ferrarese, NRC-Herzberg, Canada
Hector Flores, Observatoire de Paris, France
Ken Freeman, Australian National University, Australia
Bryan Gaensler, Dunlap Institute, University of Toronto, Canada
Sarah Gallagher, Western Ontario, Canada
Peter Garnavich, University of Notre Dame, USA
Karoline Gilbert, Space Telescope Science, USA
Rosa Gonzalez-Delgado, CEI UAM+CSIC, Madrid, Spain
Aruna Goswami, Indian Institute of Astrophysics, India
Puragra Guhathakurta, UC Santa Cruz, USA
Pat Hall, York, Canada
Guenther Hasinger, Institute for Astronomy, Hawaii
Misha Haywood, Observatoire de Paris, France
Falk Herwig, University of Victoria, Canada
Vanessa Hill, Observatoire de la Cote d'Azur, France
Andrew Hopkins, Australian Astronomical Observatory, Australia
Mike Hudson, Waterloo, Canada
Narae Hwang, KASI, Rep. of Korea
Rodrigo Ibata, Observatoire de Strasbourg, France
Pascale Jablonka, EPFL, France/Switzerland
Matthew Jarvis, Oxford, UK
Umanath Kamath, Indian Institute of Astrophysics, India
Lisa Kewley, ANU, Australia
Iraklis Konstantopoulos, Australian Astronomical Observatory, Australia
George Koshy, Indian Institute of Astrophysics, India
Rosine Lallement, Observatoire de Paris
Damien Le Borgne, Institut d'astrophysique de Paris, France
Khee-Gan Lee, Max-Planck Institute for Astronomy, Heidelberg, Germany
Geraint Lewis, University of Sydney
Robert Lupton, Princeton, USA
Sarah Martell, University of New South Wales, Australia
Nicolas Martin, Observatoire de Strasbourg, France
Mario Mateo, University of Michigan, USA
Olga Mena, CEI UAM+CSIC, Madrid, Spain
Adam Muzzin, York University, Canada
David Nataf, ANU, Australia
Jeffrey Newman, University of Pittsburgh, USA
Gajendra Pandey, Indian Institute of Astrophysics, India
Eric Peng, KAVLI - Peking University, China
Enrique Pérez, CEI UAM+CSIC, Madrid, Spain
Celine Peroux, LAM, France
Patrick Petitjean, Institut d'astrophysique de Paris, France
Bianca Poggianti, INAF, Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova, Italy
Francisco Prada, CEI UAM+CSIC, Madrid, Spain
Mathieu Puech, Observatoire de Paris, France
Alejandra Recio-Blanco, Observatoire de la Cote d'Azur, France
Johan Richard, CRAL, Lyon, France
Annie Robin, Observatoire de Besançon, France
Aaron Robotham, University of Western Australia, Australia
Charli Sakari, University of Washington, USA
Will Saunders, Australian Astronomical Observatory, Australia
Carlo Schimd, LAM, France
Arnaud Seibert, Observatoire de Strasbourg, France
Prajval Shastri, Indian Institute of Astrophysics, India
Yue Shen, KAVLI, Peking University, China
Daniel Smith, University of Hertfordshire, UK
C.S. Stalin, Indian Institute of Astrophysics, India
Else Starkenburg, Liebniz Institute for Astrophysics, Potsdam, (AIP), Germany
Firoza Sutaria, Indian Institute of Astrophysics, India
Charling Tao, Tsinghua Center for Astrophysics, Tsinghua U., China
Karun Thanjuvur, University of Victoria, Canada
Sivarani Thirupathi, Indian Institute of Astrophysics, India
Laurence Tresse, CRAL, France
Brent Tully, Institute for Astronomy, Hawaii
Ludo van Waerbeke, British Columbia, Canada
Kim Venn, Victoria, Canada
Eva Villaver, CEI UAM+CSIC, Madrid, Spain
Matthew Walker, Carnegie-Mellon University, USA
Jian-Min Wang, Institute of High Energy Physics, Beijing, China
Yiping Wang, National Astronomical Observatories, CAS, China
Yuting Wang, NAOC, China
Jon Willis, Victoria, Canada
David Yong, ANU, Australia
Gongbo Zhao, NAOC, China